top of page

Madagascar: Escape to the East Coast

After only a month of training at Mandraka Park, my lovely aunty and uncle, who also happen to be my bosses, took me on a five-day trip to the East Coast of Madagascar.

“IT’S THE JOURNEY, NOT THE DESTINATION”

During our road trip we drove by countless picturesque villages. I usually fall asleep as soon as I sit in a car but on this journey my eyes were wide open. I was observing all the colours of nature and the changes in the landscape along the way. In some areas I was saddened to witness the effects of deforestation; some of the forests we drove past looked like the end of the world, all the trees had been burned. On the other hand, Madagascar is home to a high number of endemic species of fauna and flora and I was fascinated by all the trees and plants that I had never seen before. I was also curiously looking at people as we drove past villages: the houses, women washing laundry, kids playing and men working in the fields.

We stopped in different places to eat and to buy some fruit. We took a coffee break in Andasibe, and just when we were about to leave, a group of lemurs appeared. I was surprised about how friendly they were, even the mothers carrying babies came really close to us to check if we had food, before vanishing into the woods.

MAHANORO

We stayed two nights in bungalows at ‘La Belle Plage’, where we were kindly welcomed by Jasmine who is also an incredible cook. We spent a couple days in Mahanoro exploring the town, walking around the market, relaxing on the beach and eating fresh seafood. I was touched by how nice people were in Mahanoro, it was very different to the capital city. I received so many smiles, especially from kids.

MANAMBATO

We got back on the road and drove to Manambato. It is quite difficult to access, you need a solid car and a solid stomach while driving down the bumpy dirt road, but it is absolutely worth it.

The lake is perfect to swim in, it is really clear. In the morning it was completely still and in the afternoon the wind picked up and it looked just like the ocean.

The next day we took a boat ride to Palmarium, which is an island full of lemurs and iguanas, I loved it!

Madagascar is a fascinating, yet complex country that I am learning a little bit more about every day. This trip gave me a good impression of Madagascar, I must admit I do get upset sometimes when I am in Antananarivo; the effects of poverty are heartbreaking to witness. However, these isolated places on the coast showed me that people could live very simple and modest lives and still be happy. I was very moved by all the smiles and warm greetings that I received.

RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page